From Nubia to the Horn of Africa

After an enlightening 10 days in Egypt, I set off to Sudan. I decided to use the ferry (18 hours) which goes across Lake Nassir from Aswan to Wadi halfa. There is a newly constructed road from Aswan to Wadi Halfa and buses depart daily (early morning starts) for the 12 hour trip.

IMG_7664

Sunset on Lake Nassir. I was hoping that I would be able to see the Abu Simbel Temple in the early morning but alas, we passed by under the cover of darkness

img_7683

I had really wanted to take nicer photos of Gaddafi’s Egg, but I did not have a Photo Permit  and hence resorted to using my phone. Located on Nile Street, the Corinthian (actual name) is quite a beauty from an architectural perspective.

img_7750

On the way from Khartoum towards Gallabat, the bus had mechanical problems and we had to wait for an hour while the driver attempted repairs. Even though it was winter, the heat was a crispy 38 degrees celsius.

img_7763

Africa Union head offices are located in Addis Ababa. There are quite some magnificent buildings that act as the office. However, it did not escape my eye that right across the street from these opulent buildings are shacks and boxes that people call home.

img_7834

A Church (quite a prevalent site in Ethiopia), The Oromo Cultural Center (spent 2 hours on a guided tour where I learnt about the Oromo people and the protests that were happening in Ethiopia ) and The Addis Light Rail Train (constructed with the aid of China and open to the public in late 2015). The Addis Light Rail provided a comfortable way to see the city and some of the cultural sites in Addis (located within walking distance of the stations)

bffc6923-d748-4aed-9d77-9f353feed0dc

A sign indicating the increasing/strengthening of the China-Africa relationship.

img_7892

After three weeks on the road, i have come to the realisation and conclusion that the diversity of the cultures that is in Africa cannot be crammed into a road trip. I am but taking a sliver of each country’s diversity, as I take buses, mini buses, the odd flight here and there across the continent, I am in awe of Alashi Takashi Alashi (check him out on /facebook.com/alashi.takashialashi) and his compatriot who are currently cycling from Cairo to Cape Town, I met them on the ferry to Wadi Halfa. I feel that is the best way to get immersed in a culture, a people and place. A slow ride (can only imagine how tough it is) through the continent.

 

The pictures don’t cover the experiences I had especially in Sudan (no photo permit, so was too scared to take photos of people, lest the law catch me). Despite the language barrier, I experienced much kindness from Sudan, In Dongola, the police shared their supper with me while we figured out my accommodation, and such acts repeated themselves in Khartoum. A strong sense of sharing, caring, meals are eaten in a shared fashion and there is a genuine sense of care when people are interacting with each other. I had preconceptions, a stereotypical view of Sudan (as perpetuated by the media) but what I found in my short time there was something very different.

Onwards I go to the Land of the greatest wildebeest migration, Kenya.

One thought on “From Nubia to the Horn of Africa

  1. As you travel you learn a lot of cultures, you see for yourself .

    Enjoy the remaining journeys and wish you well in the remaining leg.

    All the best son

    We love you and will keep tracking you.

    Mummy

    Like

Leave a Reply

